Skip to content

Breakfast Portobello Mushrooms

July 27, 2011


Breakfast during the working week is basically non-existant for me. In fact, it’s even worse, I work at a chocolate store so the first thing I do when I get into the store to open it up is eat a bunch of chocolate. Seriously not good for me, but I’m not one for buying breakfast from Starbucks or Dunk’n Donuts on the go. I guess i’m no true New Yorker.

When I found this recipe, and noticed how easy it was to make, I jumped on it. I love portobello mushrooms, they’re so meaty and earthy. The baked egg on top was runny and creamy, and the herbs gave it a nice touch. This would go great with roasted tomatos and a mimosa.

Breakfast Portobello Mushrooms
adapted from What’s Cooking, Mexico?

2 Portobello mushrooms, stems cut, gills scraped out [take a spoon and just scrape out all the black gills and discard]
2 large eggs
olive oil
fresh dill, thyme, basil, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Drizzle olive oil over mushrooms, with stems cut and gills taken out. Season with salt and pepper.
Put on a greased baking dish or sheet, or use a silpat
Sprinkle herbs on top
Crack open eggs carefully on top of mushrooms.
Bake for 10-15 minutes on 325F

From → breakfast

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment