Skip to content

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 20, 2011

BEFORE I EVEN POST THIS RECIPE, i just want to say one thing: USE A LOT OF BACON. The recipe i found said to use 8 strips, but i think you need more. I mean, i did get the delicious bacon and chocolate combination i was craving, but it definitely could use more bacon. Bacon and chocolate just GO together. They’re the new ‘peas and carrots’. You can never have enough bacon! If i could wrap the world in salty, sweet, smoky bacon strips, i WOULD.

This recipe called to candy the bacon, which gets a little messy. I think the cookies would taste just fine without baking the bacon strips in sugar, if you want to be lazy and skip that step. But seeing a baking sheet filled with bacon covered in brown sugar made me drool, so it was worth it.

These cookies really hit the mark. Crispy on the outside, doughy and soft on the inside. I don’t know why i haven’t seen recipes for bacon chocolate chip cookies more often, now that bacon is the new food craze. I am not a stranger to the ways of bacon in chocolate, considering i work for Vosges who are famous for the bacon bar. I will definitely be bringing these in to share with my co-workers on Tuesday.

Bacon Chocolate Chip cookies
adapted from Quick Dish

For the bacon:
10-12 strips of bacon
1/2 cup light brown sugar

For the cookies:
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 whole egg
1 egg yolk
1 Tablespoon warm water
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Place bacon in a single layer on cooking sheet.
Cover bacon with brown sugar. Bake for 11-15 minutes or until crispy, making sure to turn bacon over after 10 minutes.

Remove from oven and place on a wire rack for cooling. Once bacon has cooled chop it finely.
Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees.
Sift flour and baking soda.
In a medium bowl, cream butter with the white and brown sugar.
Add vanilla, egg, and egg yolk to the bowl and beat until light and creamy.
Add flour mixture and mix well.
Add warm water, then add diced candied bacon and chocolate chips and stir until just combined.

Place golf ball sized balls of dough on a parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 13-15 minutes or until edges are brown. Remove from oven and let cookies sit on the pan for a couple of minutes before placing on a wire rack.

From → cookies

8 Comments
  1. What a great cookie. I really must try this bacon/chocolate combination…it looks so yummy.

    • One for the Oven permalink

      it’s the combination of the future!

  2. Margoooo permalink

    Dude. Why do you have to live so far away now. I did NOT get to reap in this benefit when you were living with us. BUTTFUCKYOU. love you.

    • One for the Oven permalink

      I think it’s cus i wasn’t exposed to a lot of unique food in California. New York is a bit of a foodie kind of town, so i’m more surrounded with really creative ideas with baking. Also, working at Vosges is a kind of an inspiration, and i’m around it all day so it leaks into my baking when i have a day off. BUTTFUCKYOU. love you too.

  3. I absolutely shuddered at the idea of bacon and chocolate together but I was at a restaurant not long ago and they served little after dinner chocolates filled with caramel they made with bacon fat… I was shocked – it wasn’t the least bit vile!

    Go supercombos of the future! Next on my list to try… bacon brownies…

    • One for the Oven permalink

      It really is a supercombo! I don’t know which will be the next NEW crazy flavor combo thingy of the future, but i am totally comfortable with letting bacon + chocolate be it. I want to combine chocolate + bacon + chile powder someday. the brownie suggestion is awesome, i say go for it!

  4. I’ve been seeing so many people doing sweet/bacon creations lately…I’m intrigued! Still not sure how I feel about it, but when I finally get the nerve, this will be the recipe I start with!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Bacon Peanut Butter Brownie Bites « One for the Oven

Leave a Reply

